Two Nebraska Counties Added to Federal Assistance Eligible List

Main Content
Release date: 
January 31, 2007
Release Number: 

GRAND ISLAND, Neb. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today the approval of a request by the State of Nebraska to add two additional counties to the disaster area resulting from the ice storms late last year. Deuel County and Butler County were added today to the list of 57 counties already eligible to receive federal disaster assistance.

As with the other counties impacted by the recent storms, both Deuel and Butler Counties will now be eligible to apply for funds from the Public Assistance program in Categories A and B. These two categories provide funds to reimburse local municipalities for debris removal and emergency measures put in place as a result of the disaster. Examples of emergency measures include increased security costs or search and rescue operations as a direct result of the disaster.

In addition, Butler County is also eligible for Public Assistance funds in Categories C through G. These extra categories provide increased funds for local governments to repair or replace permanent public structures, such as public utilities and power lines. The Public Assistance program provides 75 percent of the funds toward the cost of eligible programs and state and local governments usually share the remainder.

Request for Public Assistance applications are accepted by the Nebraska Public Assistance Office for 30 days from the designation of that county as a federal disaster area.

The deadline for applications from the earlier 57 counties is February 6, 2007 .

Request for Public Assistance applications from Deuel and Butler counties will be accepted until March 2, 2007 .

To apply for local Public Assistance projects, contact the Nebraska Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) Public Assistance Office through .

For more information about eligible Public Assistance projects, please see the FEMA website. .

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program.  FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top