Main Content

FEMA Grant Program Could Help Nebraska Recover Two Different Ways

Release date: 
January 23, 2007
Release Number: 

GRAND ISLAND, NE -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is currently implementing the Public Assistance program in Nebraska. The Public Assistance program provides grant assistance to local governments and certain private non-profit organizations. These grants can be used for reimbursement of emergency measures put in place after the disaster or for the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged, publicly owned facilities.

There are two types of assistance within the Public Assistance program; emergency measures and permanent restorations. As of today only the emergency work category is eligible in Nebraska but the category to provide for permanent repairs is pending and could become available at any time.

All eligible work must be a direct result of damage caused by the recent ice storms and within the 57 eligible counties declared in the disaster area. The federal share of the assistance is 75 percent of the eligible cost and state and local governments typically share the remainder.

Eligible Emergency Work (Categories A and B):

  • Debris removal from public roads
  • Emergency protective measures performed to eliminate or reduce immediate threats to the public, including search and rescue and the demolition of unsafe structures.

Eligible Permanent Work (Categories C through G):

  • Restoration of an eligible damaged public facility to its pre-disaster design. Eligible work ranges from minor repairs to complete replacement.
  • Categories of permanent work include:
    • Roads, bridges and associated features, such as shoulders, culverts, and signs.
    • Water control facilities including drainage channels and pumping facilities.
    • Public buildings, including their contents and systems.
    • Utility distribution systems, such as water treatment and delivery, power generation facilities and distribution lines.
    • Public parks and recreational facilities, including playgrounds and public pools.

For more information about eligible Public Assistance projects, please see the FEMA website.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: