FEMA's Public Assistance Grant Program in Place for Missouri Ice Storm

Main Content
Release date: 
January 16, 2007
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- On January 15, President Bush authorized a major disaster declaration for 35 Missouri jurisdictions, following a severe weekend ice storm. Under this declaration the Public Assistance program of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) was made available to entities in the following jurisdictions: Barry, Barton, Callaway, Camden, Christian, Cole, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Laclede, Lawrence, Lincoln, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Montgomery, Newton, Osage, Phelps, Polk, Pulaski, St. Charles, St. Clair, St. Louis, Stone, Warren, Webster, Wright, and the independent City of St. Louis.

The objective of the FEMA's Public Assistance (PA) Grant Program is to provide assistance to States, local governments, and certain Private Non-Profit organizations to alleviate suffering and hardship resulting from major disasters or emergencies declared by the President.

Under this declaration, public entities may apply for reimbursement on a cost share basis for storm-related debris removal and emergency protective measures. This includes debris removal from streets and highways to allow safe passage of emergency vehicles and debris removal from public property to eliminate health and safety hazards. Emergency protective measures are taken before during and after the storm to save lives and protect public health and safety. This includes but is not limited to search and rescue, provision of food, water and ice and emergency repairs. FEMA reimburses 75 percent of eligible cost; the balance is shared between the state and the applicant.

FEMA's Individual Assistance has not been authorized for this disaster. Those who have emergency needs from the storm should contact their local officials and voluntary agencies for assistance.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program.  FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders.  FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top