Call FEMA Even If You Have Registered With Red Cross

Main Content
Release date: 
January 11, 2007
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- The State of New York and federal recovery officials want to remind those affected by the November flooding to register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) even if they have already registered with the American Red Cross, another voluntary agency, or have reported damage to county or local officials.

Registering with other agencies does not register you with FEMA. The only way to get into the FEMA disaster assistance system and get the help you need is to call or register online.

"Our teams working in the affected areas are finding people who think they have already indicated their need for disaster assistance because they called, or were contacted, by local emergency management offices," said Federal Coordinating Officer Marianne C. Jackson of FEMA.

"You must also call the FEMA registration number - 1-800-621-3362," said John R. Gibb, Director of the New York State Emergency Management Office (SEMO).  "We don't want anyone who may be eligible to miss out on disaster aid.  Call today."

Homeowners, renters, and business owners who had flood losses should call the FEMA registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) to apply for disaster aid. Individuals with hearing or speech impairments should call (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. The lines are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., Monday through Saturday and 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Sundays.  You can also register online at

Once registered, visit a Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) to talk one on one with disaster recovery specialists.  Two DRCs are open:  Metro Center, 49 Court Street, Binghamton, and the Vestal Town Library, 320 Vestal Parkway East.  Hours are 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders.  FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top