More Than $1.2 Million Approved For Disaster Assistance In Broome And Chenango Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
January 4, 2007
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N. Y. -- To date, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved. more than $1.2 million in disaster assistance for those affected by November flooding in Broome and Chenango counties, recovery officials said today.

President Bush declared a major disaster declaration on December 12 for the severe storms and flooding that occurred in New York on November 16-17.

FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Marianne C. Jackson said, “We have approved 384 households in the two counties for more than $1 million in housing assistance and 61 households for more than $62,000 in other needs assistance.”

Those who have not registered for disaster aid are encouraged to call FEMA’s toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The hearing and speech impaired can call TTY 1-800-462-7585, or register on-line at where valuable recovery information is also available

Telephone registration lines are open on Monday through Saturday from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., and on Sunday from 8 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Registering is the only way to access a wide range of federal disaster assistance programs that can include funding for temporary disaster housing assistance, U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and business owners to repair or replace real or personal property and housing repair; replacement grants to help meet serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs; and disaster unemployment assistance.

FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, an applicant must complete an SBA loan application to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top