New Disaster Declaration to Help Alaska Recover from October Storms

Main Content
Release date: 
December 12, 2006
Release Number: 

ANCHORAGE, Alaska -- Federal disaster recovery assistance is now available to help communities recovering from the strong storm system that moved through south central Alaska Oct. 8-13.

President Bush signed a federal disaster declaration Dec. 8 that makes Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) recovery assistance available to the Kenai Peninsula Borough and the Chugach and Copper River Regional Educational Attendance Areas (REAAs) following October's severe storms, flooding, landslides, and mudslides.

"The recent federal declaration is for Public Assistance which allows FEMA to help governmental entities restore or replace infrastructure and to help reimburse for debris removal and emergency protective measures," said Federal Coordinating Officer Bill Lokey.

FEMA's public assistance grants may be available for State agencies, local governments, Indian tribes, Alaska native villages and certain private non-profit organizations. The help comes in the form of grants that are based on a 75 percent federal reimbursement.

The Dec. 8 federal declaration brings the total to three that the State of Alaska and FEMA are now orchestrating from an Anchorage Joint Field Office. Earlier in October President Bush signed federal disaster declarations authorizing Public Assistance funds to assist the City of Hooper Bay with recovery from an August fire and to help the Chugach REAA, Mat-Su, and Denali Boroughs recover from an August flooding and mudslide event.

To date more than $1 million has been obligated through FEMA's Public Assistance grants to help recovery efforts following the Hooper Bay fire and August storm.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA works closely with State and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters, and other first responders. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top