Main Content

FEMA Extends Deadline To December 7 For Applying For Infrastructure Damage Reimbursement

Release date: 
December 5, 2006
Release Number: 

HONOLULU, Hawaii -- State, county and local government agencies and eligible public nonprofit organizations now have until December 7 to submit worksheet applications for reimbursement of the costs to repair damage from the Kiholo Earthquake, officials of the Federal Emergency Management (FEMA) said.

The counties of Oahu, Maui and Hawaii are eligible for funding under the disaster declaration signed by President Bush. Agencies seeking assistance are asked to call Suzanne Toguchi at State Civil Defense, at 733-4300, extension 573.

Through its Public Assistance program, FEMA provides grants to repair or replace damaged roads and bridges, water-control facilities, public buildings and their contents, publicly owned utilities, and parks and recreation areas. It also includes costs for emergency services and eligible debris removal costs related to the disaster.

Private nonprofit organizations that might be eligible are those that provide a public service, such as medical facilities and day care centers for children and the elderly as well as educational institutions.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: