Main Content

Disaster Recovery Centers Open In Honoka'a, Na'alehu

Release date: 
November 10, 2006
Release Number: 

HONOLULU, Hawaii -- New Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) will open in Honoka’a and Na’alehu, and DRCs in Waimea and N. Kohala will remain open additional days, State and Federal disaster-recovery officials announced today.

“The changes reflect our effort to ensure that everyone who suffered damage from the October 15 Kiholo earthquake has an opportunity to take advantage of the services offered at the DRCs,” said Ed Teixeira, state coordinating officer. “Visiting a DRC is an important way for folks to learn about programs that can assist them in obtaining grants and low-interest loans that may be available.”

These new DRC’s will be open for two days.

Monday, November 13, and Tuesday, November 14
Honoka’s Gym in the Sports Complex
45-541 Lehua Street
Thursday, November 16 and Friday, November 17
Mobil Unit located at the
Na’alehu Park and Community Center

Open through November 15.

Sheraton Keauhou Bay
78-128 Ehukai St.

Open through November 15.

Pu’ueo Community Center
Clem Akina Park
145 Wainaku Street

N. Kohala
Open through November 18.

Senior Center
Old Courthouse
54-3900 Akoni Pule Highway

Open through November 21.

Parker Ranch Shopping Center
67-1185 Lindsey Rd.
Suite H139

All six DRCs will be open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday and from noon to 4 p.m. on Sunday.

Hawaii residents who suffered losses or damages as a result of the earthquake can follow up on their registrations at any of the six DRCs. Those affected by the disaster are urged to register for assistance first by calling toll-free 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired, from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. (local time), seven days a week. Hawaii residents also can register online at at any time.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: