Main Content

Hilo Disaster Assistance Recovery Center Opens Saturday

Release date: 
November 7, 2006
Release Number: 

HONOLULU, Hawaii -- A new Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) will open in Hilo on Saturday, November 11, bringing the number of DRCs to four, State and Federal officials announced day. 

All four DRCs will remain open through Wednesday, November 15.

The new Hilo Disaster Recovery Center will open Saturday, November 11, at the Pu'ueo Community Center, at Clem Akina Park, 145 Wainaku Street to serve individuals and businesses impacted by the October 15 Earthquake.

The Hilo DRC joins the three DRCs below.  All four DRCS will be open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. through Wednesday, November 15.

Senior Center
Old Courthouse
54-3900 Akoni Pule Highway

Sheraton Keauhou Bay
78-128 Ehukai St.

Parker Ranch Shopping Center
67-1185 Lindsey Rd.
Suite H139

"The opening of the fourth DRC helps us ensure that residents on both sides of the Big Island have access to recovery assistance and information," said Ed Teixeira, state coordinating officer

"By continuing telephone-registration service seven days a week and the operation of four DRCs through November 15, we hope to meet the needs of everyone who suffered losses in the October 15 earthquake," added federal coordinating officer Mike Karl.

Hawaii residents who suffered losses or damages as a result of the earthquake can go the Disaster Assistance Recovery Centers to follow up on their registration. Those affected by the disaster are urged to register for assistance first by calling toll-free 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1 800 462 7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired, from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. (local time), seven days a week. Hawaii residents also can register online at

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: