New Locations and Hours Announced for Indiana Disaster Recovery Centers

Main Content
Release date: 
October 27, 2006
Release Number: 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Two new Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC) will open in Lake County on Monday, Oct. 30 and Tuesday, Oct. 31 to assist those who suffered loss from the severe storms and flooding that occurred Sept. 12 ? 14, according to disaster recovery officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Indiana Department of Homeland Security (IDHS).

Also, the DRCs located in East Chicago and Gary will cease operations at the close of business Saturday, Oct. 28. To date, the East Chicago DRC has served more than 170 residents, and the Gary DRC has served more than 150.

New Disaster Recovery Centers:

10 a.m. to 7 p.m., Mon. Oct. 30 - Fri. Nov. 3, closing permanently Nov. 3 at 7 p.m.

  • Calumet Township Trustee Office, 1900 West 41 st Avenue

10 a.m. to 7 p.m., Tues. Oct. 31 - Fri. Nov. 3, closing permanently Nov. 3 at 7 p.m.

  • National Guard Armory, 2530 173rd Street , Hammond

Continuing Disaster Recovery Centers:

10 a.m. to 7 p.m., daily except closed on Sunday Oct. 29 and closing permanently Nov. 3 at 7 p.m.

  • Evansville : Indiana National Guard Armory, 3300 East Division Street
  • Highland: Lincoln Center, 2450 Lincoln Street

Closing Disaster Recovery Centers:

10 a.m. to 7 p.m. Fri. and Sat., closing permanently Sat. Oct. 28 at 7 p.m.

  • East Chicago: Public Service Facility (Conference Room), 4444 Railroad Avenue
  • Gary : Genesis Convention Center , One Genesis Center Plaza ( U.S. Hwy 20 & SR 53)

Disaster Recovery Centers offer many types of recovery information and provide a single location where people are able to talk face-to-face with disaster recovery specialists. Visitors can receive help filling out disaster loan applications from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) or check on the status of disaster assistance applications.

Nearly four weeks after Lake and Vanderburgh counties were designated for Individual Assistance under President Bush's disaster declaration of Oct. 6, DRCs across the affected area have served nearly 1,000 residents.

To apply for federal disaster assistance, residents must first register with FEMA. There are two ways to register:  log on to or call FEMA's toll-free number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for those with speech or hearing impairment.  Both numbers are available 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice. The final day to apply for assistance is Tuesday, Dec. 5, 2006.

FEMA's temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must complete and return them to SBA to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top