Main Content

King George County Designated Eligible for Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
October 26, 2006
Release Number: 

GLEN ALLEN, VA -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM) announced that King George County is designated eligible for public infrastructure assistance associated with Tropical Depression Ernesto.

King George joins twenty-two other counties and three cities under the disaster declaration of September 22, 2006.

Also included in the disaster declaration are the counties of Accomack, Caroline, Charles City, Dinwiddie, Essex, Gloucester, Greensville, King and Queen, Isle of Wight, James City, King William, Lancaster, Lunenburg, Mathews, Middlesex, Northampton, Northumberland, Richmond, Surry, Sussex, Westmoreland and York, and the cities of Poquoson, Richmond and Newport News.

“The repair of infrastructure is one of the first steps taken in order to continue services to residents after a disaster,” said Gracia Szczech, FEMA’s federal coordinating officer for recovery operations. “We are happy to make funds available to King George County in this effort through our Public Assistance program.”

Funding covers reimbursement costs for emergency debris removal and emergency protective measures and can fund the repair, restoration, reconstruction or replacement of public infrastructure such as roads and bridges, water control facilities, public buildings and contents, public utilities and parks and other recreational facility facilities damaged during a disaster.

The federal government pays 75 percent of the eligible costs, with the state and localities picking up the remaining 25 percent.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities; works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: