President Declares Major Disaster For Hawaii

Main Content
Release date: 
October 17, 2006
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for Hawaii to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by an earthquake that occurred on October 15, 2006, and related aftershocks.

FEMA Director David Paulison said funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis in the counties of Hawaii, Honolulu, Kauai, and Maui and the city of Honolulu for debris removal and emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Paulison named Michael L. Karl as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Karl said that more areas and additional forms of assistance may be designated after damage assessments are fully completed in the affected areas.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program.  FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders.  FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top