Newport News Declared Eligible for Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
October 7, 2006
Release Number: 

GLEN ALLEN, VA -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM) announced today that the city of Newport News is eligible for Public Assistance (PA) for infrastructure damage associated with Tropical Storm Ernesto, during the period of August 29 through September 7, 2006.

Newport News is added to nineteen counties and two cities announced in the major disaster declaration for the Commonwealth of Virginia dated September 22, 2006. Included are the counties of Accomack, Caroline, Charles City, Dinwiddie, Essex, Gloucester, Isle of Wight, James City, King William, Lancaster, Mathews, Middlesex, Northampton, Northumberland, Richmond, Surry, Sussex, Westmoreland and York, and the cities of Poquoson and Richmond.

“We are pleased to see Newport News declared eligible for Public Assistance. It is important in helping fund repair of the damages to their infrastructure,” said Gracia Szczech, FEMA’s federal coordinating officer for recovery operations.

Funding covers reimbursement costs for emergency debris removal and emergency protective measures and can fund the repair, restoration, reconstruction or replacement of public infrastructure such as roads and bridges, water control facilities, public buildings and contents, public utilities and parks and other recreational facility facilities damaged during a disaster.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities; works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top