Main Content

Disaster Assistance Exceeds $10 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
October 6, 2006
Release Number: 

EL PASO, Texas -- Texans who suffered damages and losses from the severe storms and flooding of July 27 to August 25, 2006, have received over $10.5 million in disaster aid, according to officials from the Texas Department of Emergency Management and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

These are the current totals for federal disaster assistance:

  • To date, more than 4,800 individuals called to apply for disaster assistance as a result of the severe storms and flooding of July 27 to August 25, 2006.
  • Qualified applicants received over $3.0 million in housing assistance and personal property repair, which helps renters and homeowners whose primary residences were damaged or destroyed, as well as those who were displaced from their home due to the disaster.
  • Qualified applicants received more than $860,000 to help meet essential needs, such as transportation, medical needs or replacements not covered by insurance or other programs.
  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved more than $6.6 million in loans to individuals and businesses impacted by the severe storms and flooding.
  • An SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Center (DLOC) is located at 7500 Viscount Blvd., Suite 292. The facility is open Mondays through Saturdays, 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. until October 16, 2006.

State and federal disaster recovery officials urge those affected and have not applied for assistance to call Helpline at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with speech or hearing impairment can call TTY 1-800-462-7585. The Helpline is available 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. MST, Monday through Friday. The deadline to apply for assistance is the close of business Monday, October 16, 2006.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: