Main Content

Four More Arizona Counties, Three Tribal Governments Eligible For Federal Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
September 29, 2006
Release Number: 

PHOENIX, Ariz. -- Four additional Arizona counties and three tribal governments have become eligible to receive federal disaster aid to help communities recover storm-related emergency expenses and repair public property damaged by storms and floods between July 25 and Aug. 4, state and federal disaster officials announced today.

At the request of the State of Arizona, an existing federal disaster declaration was amended to include Gila, Graham, Greenlee and Navajo counties. Also added were the Hopi Tribe within Navajo County, the Navajo Nation within Navajo County; and the San Carlos Apache Tribe within Gila, Graham and Pinal counties.

The initial disaster declaration, signed by President Bush Sept. 7, included Pima and Pinal counties, the Gila River Indian Community within Pinal County and the Tohono O'odham Nation within Pima and Pinal counties.

"Several Arizona communities were hit hard by the summer monsoons," said Federal Coordinating Officer Mike Karl of the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). "We are committed to helping these communities repair roads and other damaged infrastructure."

"The State is eager to get these communities back on their feet," said Lou Trammell, State Coordinating Officer of the Arizona Division of Emergency Management.   Preliminary damage assessments are approximately $11.5 million.

Under FEMA's public assistance program, state, local and tribal governments and certain nonprofit organizations may receive federal funds for the repair, replacement or restoration of disaster-damaged facilities, as well as costs incurred for disaster cleanup or emergency actions taken to protect lives or property. The federal share is at least 75 percent of the eligible cost of a project. 

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program.  FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders.  FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top