Main Content

Mckinley County Designated For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
September 22, 2006
Release Number: 

SANTA FE, N.M. -- Disaster assistance has been made available for McKinley County to help local governments recover from the effects of severe storms and flooding in New Mexico between July 26 and Sept. 18, 2006, according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the New Mexico Office of Emergency Management. 

"McKinley was added to the list of eligible counties based on a review of damage data gathered by federal and state damage assessment teams," said Federal Coordinating Officer Tony Russell.

Federal funding is now available to State and eligible local government and certain private non-profit organizations located in McKinley County on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of storm- or flood-damaged facilities.  The federal share of eligible public assistance costs is 75 percent.  The remaining share is the responsibility of the state, local governments and certain eligible non-profit organizations.

The funds were authorized under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush on August 30, 2006 and made available through FEMA's public assistance program for state and local governments.

Previous counties designated for Public Assistance include:  Cibola, Dona Ana, Grant, Guadalupe, Harding, Hidalgo, Lincoln, Luna, Mora, Otero, San Miguel, Sandoval, Sierra, Socorro, Torrance and Valencia bringing the total number of counties under the current declaration for Public Assistance to 17.

Dona Ana and Otero counties are also declared for Individual Assistance.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: