Main Content

FEMA Expands Disaster Incident Period To Include Severe Storms And Flooding From July 27th To August 25th

Main Content
Release date: 
September 12, 2006
Release Number: 

El Paso, Texas -- The start date of the El Paso Disaster Incident Period has been modified from July 31st to July 27th and the Incident type changed from "Flooding" to "Severe Storms and Flooding," according to the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Texas Governor's Division of Emergency Management (GDEM).

"The changes will allow people who suffered damage from the severe storms in the days prior to July 31st to apply for Disaster Assistance," said Kenneth Clark, Federal Coordinating Officer. "I have also extended the time the Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC) will be open to give the additional applicants an opportunity to meet with local, State and Federal representatives face to face. I urge every applicant to visit the DRC to have their questions answered, check the status of their case and receive help preparing their applications. "

"We are pleased FEMA recognized our request and made assistance available to more people who suffered damage," Frank Cantu, state coordinating officer for the Governor's Division of Emergency Management, said. "People who received damage from July 27th through July 31st and who have applied for FEMA assistance should call FEMA at 1-800-621-FEMA or visit a Disaster Recovery Center to update their application. Of course, people who have not applied yet should do so as soon as possible."

Residents and businesses of the county can apply for help by registering online at or calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).  Those with speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.  Expanded registration hours are now available for those applying by phone-6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice. Online registration can be done any time day or night.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top