Disaster Unemployment Assistance Application Period Ends Sept 15

Main Content
Release date: 
September 7, 2006
Release Number: 

EL PASO, Texas -- El Paso area residents who are eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) have until September 15, 2006 to file a claim.

The DUA program is administered by the Texas Workforce Commission and funded by the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) through the U.S. Department of Labor. To be eligible for help under Presidential Disaster Declaration FEMA-1658-DR, applicants must:

  • Have worked or been scheduled to work in the disaster area, but because of the disaster no longer have a job, a place to work in the area, or could not get to work because of disaster damage
  • Have been prevented from working by an injury or illness as a direct result of the disaster
  • Have become the head of the household and need employment because the head of the household died as a result of the disaster.

To apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance please call the Texas Workforce Commission at 800-939-6631 or, in El Paso, call 915-832-6400. The hours are from 7am to 5pm MST, Monday through Friday.

Self-employed business owners who have lost all or part of their livelihood as a result of the storms and flooding also may be eligible for benefits. To learn if they qualify, applicants can call 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585 for the speech or hearing impaired.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top