Hudspeth County Added to Disaster Declarationfor Floods, Will Receive Public Assistance Funds

Main Content
Release date: 
August 28, 2006
Release Number: 

El Paso, Texas -- Hudspeth County is now eligible to receive assistance for storm damages incurred since July 31, according to the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Texas Governor's Division of Emergency Management (GDEM).

Hudspeth County will receive assistance under Category B of FEMA's Public Assistance Grant Program (PA) for Emergency Protective Measures. This assistance is to partially reimburse eligible expenses incurred for measures taken before, during and immediately after a disaster to save lives, protect public health and safety, and protect improved public and private property.

"Through the PA Program, support is offered to qualified state and local governments as well as certain non-profit organizations to alleviate suffering and hardship resulting from major disasters or emergencies declared by the President," said Kenneth Clark, federal coordinating officer. "Knowing that Hudspeth County was being considered, we are already folding the county into our existing effort for El Paso County ."

Federal assistance to Hudspeth County will not include the Individual and Households Program.

"This add-on means that qualified organizations in Hudspeth County will receive no less than 75 percent of the eligible cost incurred as a result of the disaster," Frank Cantu, state coordinating officer for the Governor's Division of Emergency Management, said. "We are pleased that FEMA recognized the need for and approved our request to include the county in our recovery efforts."

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top