Mobile Disaster Recovery Center Moves to Upper Valley

Main Content
Release date: 
August 25, 2006
Release Number: 

El PASO, Texas -- The Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Texas Governor's Division of Emergency Management (GDEM) announced today that the Mobile Disaster Recovery Center will travel to the Upper Valley and will be there four days.

Sunday August 27 through Wednesday August 30 (9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.)

Fire Hall (One block from City Hall)
510 E. Vinton

The Mobile Disaster Recovery Center will then return to its previous sites:

Socorro -- August 31 and September 1 (9:00am to 6:00pm)
City Hall 860 Rio Vista

Horizon City -- September 2 and 3 (9:00am to 6:00pm)
13969 Veny Webb
Oz Glaze Sr. Citizens Center

Clint -- September 4 and 5 (9:00am to 6:00pm)
Community Center
200 N. San Elizario

Vinton -- September 6 through 9 (9:00am to 6:00pm)
Fire Hall (One Block from City Hall)
510 E. Vinton

The fixed Disaster Recovery Center will remain at 7500 Viscount in El Paso , and is open from 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m, seven days a week. The operating hours are the same for all locations. Anyone may visit any Disaster Recovery Center location. Disaster Recovery Centers provide residents an opportunity to meet face to face with representatives from state, federal, and voluntary agencies to find answers to questions they may have about the recovery process. Customer services representatives from the U.S. Small Business Administration will be on hand to help individuals fill out loan applications and answer questions.

Before visiting a DRC, individuals should register for assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or 1-800-462-7585 for those who are hearing or speech-impaired. The FEMA application line is open 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. local time seven days a week, until further notice. You can also register online at

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top