City of Galax Declared Eligible for Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
August 22, 2006
Release Number: 

GLEN ALLEN, Va. -- The independent City of Galax in southwest Virginia has been added to the list of Commonwealth jurisdictions declared eligible for public assistance based on damage assessments compiled by the Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) inspection teams.

The latest declaration increases public assistance eligibility to 16 political entities. They now are the independent City of Alexandria , the independent City of Galax and the counties of Alleghany, Arlington , Bath , Botetourt, Craig, Dickenson, Fairfax , Floyd, Henry, Highland, King George, Mecklenburg, Rappahannock and Rockbridge .

The Presidential declaration means that the cities, counties, and certain private non-profit organizations can recoup substantial costs incurred after the June and July storms. Categories of eligible work that may be funded by FEMA are debris removal, emergency protective measures, roads and bridges, water control facilities, buildings and equipment, utilities, and parks and recreational facilities.

The City of Galax sustained damage mostly to the public drainage systems and to local road surfaces as a result of flooding.

State Coordinating Officer, Michael Cline, said "I am pleased that FEMA has decided to grant this aid to the City of Galax . The city suffered damage to its infrastructure from the recent storms and the Public Assistance Program will help it to repair that damage."

Gracia Szczech, federal coordinating officer, said "Soon the federal share of funds will begin to flow to political jurisdictions that have submitted applications that justify cash grants for the restoration of damaged or destroyed infrastructure."

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities; works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top