As Registration Deadline Nears, Maine Approaches $3 Million In Funding

Main Content
Release date: 
July 20, 2006
Release Number: 

NEWINGTON, N.H.. -- As the July 24 registration deadline for assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) approaches, close to $2.7 million in grants and loans from FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) have been approved for homeowners, renters and business owners in York County, Maine.

“We have been making every attempt to encourage residents of York County to register for assistance from FEMA for the past 55 days. Now, with only 5 days remaining until the July 24 deadline, FEMA has approved grants in the amount of $892,500. and the SBA has approved low-interest loans in the amount of $1,826,600,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Kenneth Clark.

Of the 1,176 York County residents who registered with FEMA, 961 were referred to the Individuals and Households Program (IHP) while 537 applicants were approved for federal grants, 350 were found ineligible, 62 withdrew their application and 12 applications are still pending.

FEMA approved $834,196. for disbursal to 514 applicants making the average York County grant $1,623.

The SBA issued 947 home applications for low-interest loans and 165 business applications for a total of 1,112. The SBA received 146 applications back and approved 83 (with 12 pending) for loans in the amount of $1,826,600.

“Renters who suffered losses, homeowners with their primary residence in York County who suffered damage and business owners have until July 24 to register for FEMA assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362),” said State Coordinating Officer Steve Burgess, Maine Emergency Management Agency. Registration can also be completed by going on-line to The TTY phone number for the hearing and speech impaired is 1-800-462-7585.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top