New Jersey Disaster Recovery Centers To Close Sundays

Main Content
Release date: 
July 19, 2006
Release Number: 

TRENTON, N.J. -- The Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the New Jersey Office of Emergency Management announced today a change in the hours of operation for the Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) in New Jersey. The DRCs will now be open six days a week, Monday through Saturday, 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., closed Sundays.

It is possible to register for assistance at a DRC, but to gain the most from on-site personnel; individuals should register for assistance before visiting. New Jersey residents can apply by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362), or 800 462 7585 for those who are hearing or speech-impaired. The FEMA application line is open 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. seven days a week, until further notice.  You can also register online at

DRCs are available to serve residents affected by the severe storms and flooding in Hunterdon, Mercer, and Warren counties. DRCs provide residents an opportunity to meet face to face with representatives from state, federal, and voluntary agencies to find answers to questions they may have about the recovery process. Loan officers from the U.S. Small Business Administration are on hand to help individuals fill out loan applications and answer questions. 

The following is a list of DRC locations; now open Monday through Saturday, as of July 19, 2006:

Mercer County
West Ward Fire House
Corner of West State Street and Lee Avenue
Trenton, NJ

Hunterdon County
Municipal Court Parking Lot
#25 South Union Street
Lambertville, NJ

Warren County
Harmony Township Municipal Building
3003 Belvedere Road
Phillipsburg, NJ

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program.  FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top