Two FEMA/State Disaster Recovery Centers to Close, But Help Continues to be Available

Main Content
Release date: 
July 18, 2006
Release Number: 

CLEVELAND, Ohio -- Two of the four Ohio Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) will be closing this week. The Stark County Disaster Recovery Center in Brewster will close at 6 p.m. on Wednesday, July 19, and the Cuyahoga County Disaster Recovery Center in Valley View will close on Saturday, July 22 at 6 p.m.

The Lucas County and Huron County DRCs remain open Monday through Saturday, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. until further notice. These are temporary offices and the information and services are available at no cost.

“At this stage of the recovery process, the emphasis for assistance is to meet the long-term needs of victims,” said Nancy Dragani, State Coordinating Officer and Executive Director of the Ohio Emergency Management Agency.

Since the four Disaster Recovery Centers opened on July 8 in Cuyahoga, Stark, Lucas and Huron counties, 946 homeowners, renters and business owners have visited one of the centers. These temporary centers were established to provide detailed program information to those who have already applied for assistance. In addition to FEMA Human Services personnel and SBA loan officers, disaster recovery specialists staff the centers to answer questions and provide information on recovery, restoration and rebuilding. The Ohio Department of Insurance and the Ohio EMA staff have also supported the DRCs.

Federal Coordinating Officer Jesse Munoz of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) also noted, “Help with questions on federal and state disaster assistance is just a phone call away. Operators at the FEMA toll-free number are available seven days a week from 8.a.m. to 6 p.m. to answer any questions.”

Federal and state officials urge others affected by the severe storms, tornadoes, straight line winds, and flooding that occurred between June 21-23 to apply immediately by calling 1-800-621-FEMA or TTY 1-800-462-7585. Phone lines will be available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily until further notice. People also may register for assistance online at their convenience at The deadline to apply is Aug. 31, 2006.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became a part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top