More Than $3.2 Million Issued in First Weeks of Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 14, 2006
Release Number: 

CLEVELAND, Ohio -- Less than two weeks after President Bush issued a major disaster declaration more than $3.2 million in disaster assistance grants have been issued either by check or direct deposit to 2,546 applicants, federal and state recovery officials announced today. A total of 6,832 residents have applied for disaster assistance in the six designated counties in northern Ohio.

The following is an update of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Ohio Emergency Management Agency (Ohio EMA) recovery activities as of close of business Thursday, July 13:

  • 6, 832 individuals (homeowners, renters and business owners) have applied for assistance in the six counties designated for Individual Assistance. The application breakdown by county is Cuyahoga – 3,158, Erie – 215, Huron - 494, Lucas - 2,591, Sandusky – 196, and Stark - 178.
  • 2,546 claims have been processed thus far for the Individuals and Household Program.
  • $3,270, 829 in grants have been issued through the Individuals and Household Program. (This assistance may be used for temporary disaster housing assistance; repairing disaster-damaged, uninsured homes to a safe, sanitary and functional condition and replacement grants for serious, disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs.)
  • 4,440 Inspections have been completed.
  • 4,137 low-interest disaster loan applications have been issued by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), including 3,710 for homeowners and renters and 427 for business owners. SBA officials encourage anyone who has received an application from the SBA to turn it in as soon as possible in order to be eligible for any further assistance.
  • 647 people have visited one of the four Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) that are temporarily opened in various locations to help meet the needs of disaster victims. The number of visits by location is Toledo – 269, Norwalk – 146, Valley View – 124, and Brewster – 108.

Federal and state officials urge others affected by the severe storms, tornadoes, straight line winds, and flooding that occurred between June 21-23 to apply immediately by calling 1-800-621-FEMA or TTY 1-800-462-7585. Phone lines will be available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily until further notice. People also may register for assistance online at their convenience at

Nearly 650 residents have visited one of the four centers located throughout the designated counties that were opened last Saturday. The centers are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday. All four locations will be closed Sunday, July 17, but will reopen promptly Monday morning, July 17, at 8 a.m. Recovery officials urge applicants to take advantage of the free services and information available at the four Disaster Recovery Centers. The center locations are:

  • Cuyahoga County, ValleyView Village Hall, 6848 Hathaway Rd., Valley View
  • Stark County, Brewster Village Hall/Fire Station, 110 E. Main St., Brewster
  • Lucas County, County Emergency Services Training Center, 2127 Jefferson Ave., Toledo
  • Huron County, Norwalk High School, 350 Shadylane Dr., Norwalk

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became a part of the U.S....

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top