Just Two Weeks Left To Apply For Disaster Assistance In N.H.

Main Content
Release date: 
July 7, 2006
Release Number: 

NEWINGTON, N.H. -- New Hampshire residents who suffered damages from the May flooding and have not registered for assistance have just two weeks left to register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The final day to register is July 24, 2006.

Homeowners, renters and business owners in the six declared counties, who sustained damage from the flooding, are urged to call FEMA's toll-free number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for those with a hearing or speech impairment. Operators are available 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday-Friday until further notice. The declared New Hampshire counties are Belknap, Carroll, Hillsborough, Merrimack, Rockingham, and Strafford Counties.

When calling or registering online, applicants should  have their current phone number; address at the time of the disaster; address where they are staying; social security number; list of damages and losses suffered; name of insurance company, agent, policy number; general financial information; and bank account coding.     

Applicants with access to a computer can also register online by going to the FEMA Web site at www.fema.gov.

Monday, July 24 is also the deadline for returning the U.S. Small Business Administration loan application.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program.  FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top