Disaster Unemployment Benefits Available To York County

Main Content
Release date: 
June 22, 2006
Release Number: 

NEWINGTON, N.H. -- Maine residents who are unemployed as a result of the recent flooding in York County may be eligible for federal Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) benefits, according to federal and state officials. FEMA provides the funding to the U.S. Department of Labor which directs it to the state of Maine. The Maine Department of Labor administers the program.

“The federal government is making DUA available to eligible Maine residents as a result of the recent flooding in York County,” said Kenneth Clark, coordinating officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). “This federal program is specifically designed to assist those who are otherwise ineligible for Maine state unemployment benefits.”

DUA is designed to provide temporary partial income replacement to people whose employment or self employment has been lost or interrupted as a direct result of a major disaster and who are not eligible for any other unemployment insurance program.

The disaster period covered by DUA in York County runs for 26 weeks beginning the week ending May 13, 2006.  DUA initial applications must be filed no later than June 26, 2006. To be eligible for ongoing weekly DUA benefits, a person must continue to be unemployed as a direct result of the flooding disaster that occurred in York County.

DUA claims are taken over the telephone. To file a claim for DUA or for questions, call 1-800-593-7660 or TTY 1-888-457-8884.

Maine residents and business owners with flood related losses are urged to begin the application process immediately by calling toll-free, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. Trained personnel are available to take applications from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program.  FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top