Grafton County Designated For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 21, 2006
Release Number: 

NEWINGTON, N.H. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved disaster assistance for Grafton County to help local governments rebuild public property damaged by the recent flooding in New Hampshire under the public assistance program, according to Federal Coordinating Officer Kenneth Clark.

"Grafton County was added to the list of the original six counties in New Hampshire (Carroll, Belknap, Strafford, Merrimack, Rockingham and Hillsborough) for public assistance following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials," said Clark. Ensuring that vital community services are restored as quickly as possible is part of FEMA's continuing commitment to help New Hampshire achieve a full and lasting recovery.

The funds were authorized under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush on May 25, and made available through FEMA's public assistance program for state and local governments.

Under the expanded assistance, Clark said affected local governments in Grafton County are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay seventy-five percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

Procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings for local officials at a location to be announced shortly by New Hampshire and FEMA officials.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program.  FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top