Maine Disaster Officials Offer Tips To Speed Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 13, 2006
Release Number: 

NEWINGTON, N.H. -- Disaster recovery officials overseeing efforts to assist area residents dealing with flood damage and loss caused by May's severe storms and flooding in York County suggest a take-charge action plan for individuals and businesses to help speed the possibility of obtaining state and federal disaster aid:

  • Register as soon as possible. Homeowners, renters, and business owners who suffered flood losses must call the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) to be eligible for disaster assistance. Individuals with hearing or speech impairments should call
    (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. The lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days        a week.
  • Register, even if you are insured. Your insurance coverage may not be adequate and some foundation damage may not show up until later. Anyone who suffered any flooding damage or loss should register for assistance.
  • Remember, disaster assistance covers a wide range of flood losses. Disaster-related damage or loss of essential personal property, anything from a wheelchair to a major appliance, may qualify for some form of federal/state assistance.
  • Stay in touch and keep appointments after you have registered for assistance. A FEMA inspector will make an appointment to visit your home, usually within two to three days. Make every effort to be at home or call to change the appointment by using the FEMA Helpline also at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362),
    (TTY) 1-800-462-7585.
  • Return all forms promptly. After registering, you may receive a U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loan application package in the mail. Fill out and return these forms promptly since they are an essential part of the disaster-assistance process.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program.  FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top