Main Content

Maine Flood Victims Urged To Return SBA Applications

Main Content
Release date: 
June 12, 2006
Release Number: 

NEWINGTON, N.H. -- Residents and business owners who applied for disaster aid due to the heavy flooding and received U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loan applications are urged to return the completed applications quickly, even if they do not want a loan, according to Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Maine Emergency Management Agency officials.

"Completing the SBA loan application does not obligate anyone to accept a loan, but it often opens doors to other types of aid that do not require repayment," Federal Coordinating Officer Kenneth Clark said.  "Individuals who do not qualify for SBA loans may be automatically referred to other available disaster programs."

State Coordinating Officer Steve Burgess said these FEMA programs can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. "We want people to receive all the benefits for which they are eligible."

SBA low-interest loans are available to homeowners, renters and businesses in York County. The loans are provided for repairing or replacing uninsured or underinsured disaster-damaged property.  Businesses may also be eligible for disaster loans to repair or replace machinery, equipment, fixtures, and inventory not covered by insurance, as well as for working capital to assist them during the disaster recovery period.

Residents and business owners with flood-related losses are urged to begin the application process immediately by calling, toll-free, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.  Trained personnel are available to take applications from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident.  FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program.  FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top