Two Weeks Left to Apply for Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 26, 2006
Release Number: 

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- June 11th is the application deadline for Arkansans in the seven counties declared eligible for disaster assistance for damages and losses caused by the storms and tornadoes from April 1st through 3rd. Residents in Conway, Cross, Fulton, Greene, Lawrence, Randolph and White counties have only two weeks to apply for federal disaster assistance, officials with the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM) said.

Arkansans can apply by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) toll-free number at 1-800-621-FEMA?(3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired. Telephone lines are open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., seven days a week. Residents may also apply online at

Applicants may qualify for assistance under several federal and state programs such as disaster housing assistance, grants to meet disaster-related needs and U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) disaster loans.

"After the deadline, if anyone has questions about their application, FEMA will still be only a telephone call away," said Federal Coordinating Officer Carlos Mitchell. "Applicants may reach FEMA's Helpline by calling toll-free 1-800-621-FEMA?(3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired."

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top