Two Weeks Left to Apply for Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 22, 2006
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- Missouri disaster victims living in Andrew, Butler, Dunklin, Pemiscot, Pettis, St. Francois and Stoddard counties have only two weeks to apply for federal disaster assistance. Monday, June 5, is the last day to file applications for most disaster assistance programs, according to federal and state disaster recovery officials.

Ron Reynolds, Director of the Missouri State Emergency Management Agency is encouraging homeowners, renters, farmers and businesses owners who sustained damage from severe storms and flooding between March 30 and April 3, to apply before the June 5 deadline.

Missourians can apply by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) toll-free number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired. Telephone lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. CDT, seven days a week. Residents may also apply online at

Applicants may qualify for assistance under several federal and state programs such as disaster housing assistance, grants to meet disaster?related needs and U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) disaster loans.

"After the deadline, if you have questions about your application, FEMA will still be only a telephone call away," said Thomas J. Costello, Federal Coordinating Officer. Applicants may reach FEMA's Helpline by calling toll-free 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top