Main Content

Scott County Disaster Recovery Center to Close

Main Content
Release date: 
May 8, 2006
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- The Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) in Sikeston, Missouri, operated jointly by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the State of Missouri Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) will close on Wednesday, May 10, 2006, at 7 p.m.

The center is located in Scott County at the Lobby of Family Life Center, First United Methodist Church, 1307 North Main, Sikeston, Missouri. Federal and state officials are on site to provide information and answer questions for residents who registered for disaster assistance.

After the center closes, registrants can still get answers to their questions or learn about the status of their FEMA applications by choosing the Helpline option at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or for the speech- or hearing-impaired 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) . Recovery specialists are available to take calls from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., CDT, seven days a week until further notice.

U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) information and application forms are available by calling toll-free 1-800-659-2955 or calling (TTY) 1-800-877-8339. Individuals may mail completed applications to SBA at 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155 . For additional information about SBA's programs, visit their website at

"Help with questions on federal and state disaster assistance is just a phone call away," said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Thomas J. Costello of FEMA. "Operators at the toll-free numbers are ready to help with many of the questions that were brought to us at the assistance centers."

"Homeowners, renters and business owners interested in federal and state disaster assistance must register with FEMA by calling the toll-free numbers or online at, even if they have already reported their losses to city or county officials," said State Coordinating Officer Ron Reynolds of SEMA. "We want to make sure everyone who may be eligible for assistance is registered."

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: