Main Content

One Week Left to Apply for Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 8, 2006
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- Missouri disaster victims living in: Bates, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Christian, Cooper, Crawford, Greene, Henry, Hickory, Howard, Iron, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Lincoln, Mississippi, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, New Madrid, Newton, Perry, Phelps, Pettis, Putnam, Randolph, Saline, Scott, St. Clair, Ste. Genevieve, Taney, Vernon, Webster and Wright who have not yet applied for federal disaster assistance have only one more week to apply. Monday, May 15, 2006 is the last day to file applications for most disaster assistance programs, according to federal and state disaster recovery officials.

Ron Reynolds, the Missouri State Department of Emergency Management is encouraging homeowners, renters, farmers, and businesses owners who sustained damage from severe storms and flooding between March 8 and March 13, to apply. Missourians can apply by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) toll-free number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY number is 1-800-462-7585 for the speech-or hearing-impaired. Telephone lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. CDT, seven days a week. People may also apply online at

Applicants may qualify for assistance under several federal and state programs such as disaster housing assistance, grants to meet disaster-related needs and U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) disaster loans.

"Even after the deadline, if you have questions about your application, FEMA will still be a telephone call away," Thomas J. Costello, federal coordinating officer said." Applicants may reach FEMA's Helpline by calling toll-free number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY number is 1-800-462-7585 for the speech-or hearing-impaired.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top