Main Content

Mobile Disaster Recovery Center Opens In Scott County

Main Content
Release date: 
May 4, 2006
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- The Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the State of Missouri Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) have opened a mobile Disaster Recovery Center in Sikeston . In an effort to speed assistance to Missouri residents affected by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding from March 8 through March 13, 2006, the mobile Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) will open on Friday, May 5, 2006, at:

Lobby of Family Life Center
First United Methodist Church
Sikeston, MO
Scott County

Hours and days of operation will be:
May 5, May 6, May 8, May 9, and May 10, 2006, at 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Closed Sunday, May 7, 2006

Disaster Recovery Centers are designed to provide detailed program information to those who have applied or need to apply for assistance under President Bush's March 16, 2006, disaster declaration. Representatives of state, federal, and voluntary agencies will be present, including Customer Service Representatives from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

SBA makes low-interest federal disaster loans available to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private non-profit organizations whose property was damaged or destroyed. In addition, the SBA also makes low-interest disaster loans available to small businesses in both primary and neighboring counties that have suffered economic injury as a result of the disaster.

Before coming to the DRC, Missouri residents and business owners are encouraged to apply immediately by calling the toll-free number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) . For people who are speech or hearing-impaired, the TTY number is 1-800-462-7585 . Telephone lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. CDT, seven days a week. People may also apply online at .

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: