Texas Wildfires Disaster Assistance and Loans Exceed $4.6 Million; $3.1 Million Reimbursed in Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
April 21, 2006
Release Number: 

President George W. Bush has declared 20 counties stricken by wildfires as major disaster areas in the State of Texas . The presidential declaration made Individual Assistance available to affected individuals and businesses in the counties of Anderson, Bastrop, Caldwell, Callahan, Cooke, Deaf Smith, Eastland, Erath, Gray, Guadalupe, Hood, Hutchinson, Montague, Palo Pinto, Parker, Potter, Roberts, Tarrant, Wheeler and Wise.

Disaster Recovery Summary as of close of business April 20, 2006:

  • 477 individuals have registered for Individual Assistance.
  • $1,261,061 has been approved through the Individuals and Household Program. Of that, FEMA has provided $680,419 in Individual Assistance and $580,642 in Other Needs Assistance.
  • $3,341,600 in loans has been approved by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for individuals and businesses affected by the Texas Wildfires.
  • 262 home inspections have been requested. 258 have been completed.
  • $3.1 million has been obligated in Public Assistance by FEMA to the State of Texas to reimburse local governments and agencies for eligible and documented expenses related to emergency protective measures associated with the Texas wildfires.

Information and daily updates are available on the following sites:

Department of Emergency Management Situation Reports, www.txdps.state.tx.us/dem/sitrepindex.htm

Texas Forest Service Wildfire Information page, www.txforestservice.tamu.edu/newsroom

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top