Three Arkansas Counties Eligible For Infrastructure Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
April 19, 2006
Release Number: 

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Cross, Greene and Randolph counties are now eligible for Public Assistance, officials from the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM) announced today. This program reimburses state and local governments for necessary infrastructure expenses brought about by the recent storms and tornadoes of April 1-3, 2006.

Federal Coordinating Officer Carlos Mitchell explained that ?the cost-share Public Assistance program will allow public agencies, as well as qualified nonprofit organizations that provide an essential public service, to seek federal reimbursement of 75 percent of eligible expenses needed to cover recovery operations.?

These operations may include debris removal, overtime hours for police and other public workers, and repair or restoration of roads and bridges, public utilities, water control facilities and public buildings.

State Coordinating Officer Richard Griffin added that ?t he remaining 25 percent is shared between the State and the applicant.?

In addition to these three counties being eligible for Public Assistance, they are also among the seven Arkansas counties originally declared eligible for financial assistance to individuals and families after the April 12, 2006 disaster declaration. The seven counties eligible for Individual Assistance are Conway , Cross, Fulton, Greene, Lawrence, Randolph and White counties.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top