FEMA/State Disaster Recovery Center To Close, But Help Continues To Be Available

Main Content
Release date: 
April 13, 2006
Release Number: 

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. -- The Disaster Recovery Center operating in the Ace Hardware, located at 1600 W. Wabash Ave in Springfield, will close operations at 6 p.m. on Friday, April 28, federal and state officials announced today.

Those affected by the central Illinois severe storms and tornadoes, which struck March 11-13, who still have questions about assistance or still need to apply should call the toll-free application line 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 1-800-462-7585. The deadline to apply for assistance is May 27; therefore all those affected are encouraged to apply immediately.

Federal Coordinating Officer Ron Sherman of the Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) noted that “Help with questions on federal and state disaster assistance is just a phone call away. Operators at the FEMA toll-free number are available from 8.a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday to help with many of the questions that were brought to us at the recovery centers.” People may also find answers to questions by visiting FEMA’s user-friendly website: www.fema.gov.

“At this stage of the recovery process, the emphasis for assistance is to meet the long-term needs of victims,” said William Burke, director of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency.

The Disaster Recovery Center located at the CWLP Building, 1450 Groth St., in Springfield will continue to serve disaster victims until further notice.

Change to DRC Hours of Operation

Beginning Wednesday, April 26, both DRC locations will operate Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. The DRC located at the CWLP Building also will be open on Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. until further notice, and will be closed on Sundays.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top