Placerville Assistance Center to Close March 25

Main Content
Release date: 
March 20, 2006
Release Number: 

SACRAMENTO, Calif. - The assistance center in Placerville will permanently close its doors at 2 p.m. Saturday, March 25, state and federal disaster recovery officials announced today.

The center, located at 330 Fair Lane in Placerville, is staffed by federal, state, local officials and by volunteer agencies that provided information and answered questions for residents who registered for disaster assistance for damage suffered in the December-January flooding.

After the center closes, registrants can still get answers to their questions or learn about the status of their FEMA applications by choosing the Helpline option at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or calling (TTY) 1-800-462-7585 between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday. The deadline to register and return U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) applications is April 4.

SBA information and application forms are available by calling toll free 1-800-659-2955 or calling (TTY) 1-800-877-8339. Individuals may mail completed applications to SBA at 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155. For additional information about SBA's programs, visit their website at

"Help with questions on federal and state disaster assistance is just a phone call away," said Federal Coordinating Officer Tom Davies of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). "Operators at the toll-free numbers are ready to help with many of the questions that were brought to us at the assistance centers."

"Homeowners, renters and business owners interested in federal and state disaster assistance must register with FEMA by calling the toll-free numbers or online at, even if they've already reported their losses to city or county officials," said State Coordinating Officer Henry Renteria, director of the Governor's Office of Emergency Services. "We want to make sure everyone registers who may be eligible for assistance."

The 13 counties where federal individual assistance programs are available are Contra Costa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Lake, Marin, Mendocino, Napa, Nevada, Sacramento, Shasta, Siskiyou, Solano and Sonoma.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top