Main Content

Joint Field Office Remains Open on January 6th

Release date: 
January 5, 2006
Release Number: 

SAN JUAN, Puerto Rico -- The Joint Field Office (JFO) which was established in San Juan, Puerto Rico to coordinate the Federal/Commonwealth recovery operations after the November 10, 2005 presidential disaster declaration, will remain open on Friday, January 6th, 2006 during the Three Kings Day holiday.

The presidential disaster declaration was in response to the damages and losses suffered in municipalities, Commonwealth agencies, and eligible private non-profit organizations resulting from the storms, flooding and landslides which occurred in Puerto Rico from October 9 through October 15, 2005.

The municipalities of Adjuntas, Aibonito, Cayey, Guayanilla, Jayuya, Juana Diaz, Lares, Maricao, Orocovis, Peñuelas, Ponce, Salinas, Santa Isabel, Utuado, Villalba, Yabucoa and Yauco were designated eligible for federal disaster funds under the Public Assistance (Infrastructure) program.

The declaration also made cost-shared funding available to the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico for approved mitigation projects that reduce future disaster risks.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and effectively manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: