FEMA Aid for Infrastructure Available to Five Additional Municipalities in PR

Main Content
Release date: 
December 20, 2005
Release Number: 

San Juan, P.R. -- Federal disaster recovery officials announced today that the municipalities of Adjuntas, Cayey, Guayanilla, Jayuya, and Orocovis in Puerto Rico have been added to the federal disaster declaration of November 10, 2005. A total of seventeen municipalities in Puerto Rico will now be included in the current Presidential disaster declaration.

The aid will be granted under the FEMA Public Assistance program to help municipal governments whose infrastructure suffered losses and damages by the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides that occurred October 9-15, 2005 in the island.

"The additional assistance was approved to those municipalities following a review of damage data gathered by federal and Commonwealth disaster recovery officials," said Justo Hernández, Federal Coordinating Officer.

Under the presidential disaster declaration of November 10, 2005, the municipalities of Aibonito, Juana Diaz, Lares, Maricao, Peñuelas, Ponce , Salinas , Santa Isabel , Utuado, Villalba, Yabucoa and Yauco were eligible for federal disaster funds.

Under the expanded declaration, the five affected municipal governments are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities. In addition, certain private non-profit organizations (PNPs) that provide essential governmental-type services to the general public may be eligible for these funds, as well.

The declaration also makes cost-shared funding available to the Commonwealth for approved mitigation projects that reduce future disaster risks.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and effectively manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top