President Declares Major Disaster For Alaska

Main Content
Release date: 
December 10, 2005
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, DC - The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that President Bush declared a major disaster exists in the State of Alaska and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by a severe fall storm, tidal surges, and flooding from September 22-26, 2005.

Acting FEMA Director R. David Paulison said Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe fall storm, tidal surges, and flooding. Areas included in the disaster declaration are the Bering Strait Regional Education Attendance Area, Kashunamiut Regional Education Attendance Area, Lower Kuskokwim Regional Education Attendance Area, and the Northwest Artic Borough.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Paulison named Dennis Hunsinger as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area. Hunsinger said that additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top