Main Content

Disaster Recovery Centers In Brockton And Worcester, Massachusetts To Close December 9

Main Content
Release date: 
December 7, 2005
Release Number: 

MERRIMACK, N.H. -- The Disaster Recovery Center (DRC)s in Brockton and Worcester will discontinue operations at 5 p.m. on Friday, December 9, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

At the centers disaster recovery specialists from FEMA, the Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) explain assistance programs and answer questions from area residents who suffered losses in October’s flooding.

Residents with disaster-related questions will continue to be able to get answers and information about their applications by selecting the FEMA Helpline option at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). For people with hearing or speech impairment, the Helpline number is 1-800-462-7585 (TTY). Lines will be open 24 hours a day, seven days a week until further notice. Applicants can also find information and register for assistance at

“We urge any registered applicants seeking one-on-one help from FEMA representatives to visit the centers most convenient for them before they close. But if they are not able to do that, they can always call the Helpline or log on to the FEMA Web site,” said State Coordinating Officer Cristine McCombs, director of the Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency (MEMA).

Federal Coordinating Officer Peter Martinasco of FEMA said visiting the center can be very helpful for people who want to learn more about risk reduction methods to lessen future losses. “This is the last chance to talk face-to-face with mitigation specialists in these towns about your particular situation.”

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: