Main Content

President Declares Major Disaster For Kentucky

Main Content
Release date: 
December 1, 2005
Release Number: 

» Federal Aid Programs For Kentucky Disaster Recovery

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that President Bush has ordered federal aid to supplement the Commonwealth of Kentucky and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and tornadoes on November 15, 2005.

Acting FEMA Director R. David Paulison, said the President’s action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in the counties Hopkins and Marshall.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Paulison said federal funding also will be available on a cost-shared basis for hazard mitigation projects to all counties in the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

Jesse Munoz of FEMA was named the federal coordinating officer by Paulison. Munoz will coordinate recovery operations in the affected area. Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Residents and business owners in the designated counties can begin the disaster application process by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA’s continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: