Main Content

FEMA/State Disaster Recovery Centers To Close On Sundays

Release date: 
November 29, 2005
Release Number: 

NEWBURGH, Ind. -- The disaster assistance resource desk at the old Wal-mart store, 820 W. Main St. in Boonville, will close permanently at 6 p.m. Wednesday, November 30, and the Disaster Recovery Centers in Vanderburgh and Warrick counties will be closed on Sundays beginning Sunday, December 4, officials of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Indiana Department of Homeland Security announced today.

The Disaster Recovery Centers in Vanderburgh and Warrick counties will continue to operate from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday – Saturday, at the following locations:

Vanderburgh County
Mobile Recovery Center
Eastbrook Trailer Park
Evansville, Ind.

Warrick County
Bell Oaks Centre
8333 Bell Oaks Dr.
Newburgh, Ind

Those affected by the November 6 tornado and severe storms, who still have not registered and/or have questions about assistance or low-interest disaster loans can call the toll-free application line at 1-800-621-FEMA (TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech – or hearing-impaired) or by visiting the FEMA web site at Phones and computers are available at the Disaster Recovery Centers listed above.

Since the first Disaster Recovery Centers opened on November 10, 994 homeowners, renters, and business owners have visited one of the centers. The temporary centers were established to provide detailed program information to those who have already applied for assistance. In addition to FEMA Human Services personnel and SBA loan officers, disaster recovery specialists staff the centers to answer questions and provide information on recovery, restoration and rebuilding.
FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: