President Declares Major Disaster For North Dakota

Main Content
Release date: 
November 21, 2005
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON - The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that federal disaster aid has been made available to the State of North Dakota to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by a severe winter storm and record and/or near record snow from October 4 - 6, 2005.

Acting FEMA Director R. David Paulison said President Bush authorized federal funding for state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storms. The designated counties are Benson, Billings, Bottineau, Bowman, Burke, Dunn, Golden Valley, McHenry, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, Oliver, Pierce, Renville, Rolette, Sheridan, Stark, Towner, and Ward and the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation. Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

In addition, assistance for snow removal and emergency protective measures that were undertaken to save lives and protect public health, safety and property over a 48-hour period in response to record and/or near record snow is available to the state and eligible local governments in the counties of Billings, Bowman, Burke, Dunn, Golden Valley, McKenzie, Morton, Mountrail, Stark, Ward and Williams.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Paulison named Thomas J. Costello as the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top