Assistance May Be Available For Insured And Underinsured Victims

Main Content
Release date: 
November 13, 2005
Release Number: 

NEWBURGH , Ind. -- Individuals who suffered damage from the 6 November 2005 tornado and severe storms and were insured, may still be eligible for disaster assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). According to Federal Coordinating Officer Brad Gair, the all-important first step for anyone who sustained damage is to apply for assistance online at or by calling the toll-free teleregistration number: 1-800-621-FEMA ( TTY 1-800-462-7585).

"If your insurance policy did not cover all of your disaster-related damage or losses, FEMA may be able to help. Insured applicants will receive a ?letter of ineligibility' informing them that assistance programs cannot duplicate insured losses," said Federal Coordinating Officer Brad Gair. "However, once the insurance claim is settled, I encourage every applicant to take that all-important second step by calling back with their registration number and insurance settlement information to explore additional options."

State Coordinating Officer Eric Dietz agrees. "Disaster assistance is designed to cover uninsured and under-insured losses, but cannot duplicate services and funds compensated by an insurance claim or provided by another assistance program," said Dietz. "Insured disaster victims may still be eligible for disaster assistance. However, FEMA needs insurance settlement information to complete the process."

Insured applicants whose insurance settlements may be delayed, or whose Additional Living Expense (ALE) is inadequate, should visit their nearest Disaster Recovery Center , or call back on FEMA's toll-free teleregistration number and ask for the Help Line.

The available disaster programs include grants for temporary housing and repairs to make a home safe and sanitary and low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), for homeowners, renters and business owners. These SBA low-interest loans may cover the repair/replacement of uninsured or underinsured real estate, personal property losses, as well as debris removal, limited landscaping replacement, damaged and destroyed non-agricultural related sheds and other out buildings.

Residents and business owners of Warrick and Vanderburgh counties may be eligible for a variety of state and federal disaster aid programs, including disaster unemployment assistance for self-employed individuals.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top