Assistance Available To Residents Affected By The Indiana Tornado

Main Content
Release date: 
November 13, 2005
Release Number: 

NEWBURGH , Ind . -- Renters, homeowners and business owners who sustained losses as a result of the tornado and severe storms of 6 November 2005 may find help through a variety of state and federal programs, according to state and federal disaster recovery officials. At the request of Governor Daniels, Warrick and Vanderburgh counties were declared a major disaster area by President Bush.

"We understand these are very difficult times and will continue to provide the necessary services to those in need," said Brad Gair, Federal Coordinating Officer (FCO) for this disaster recovery effort. " A number of disaster assistance programs are in place to assist the people of Indiana through the recovery process."

According to State Coordinating Officer (SCO) Eric Dietz, primary aid programs include temporary disaster housing assistance, low-interest loans for repair and replacement of real or personal property and grants to help meet serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by other assistance programs. "We are also working closely with the Red Cross, the Salvation Army and other government and voluntary agencies to identify people in need of services and help them obtain the assistance they need," said Dietz. "Many different voluntary agencies provide for immediate emergency needs following a disaster."

Disaster victims are urged to register for assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech ? or hearing-impaired) or online at . If you are unable to register, phones and computers are available at the Disaster Recovery Centers listed below.

Vanderburgh County
Mobile Recovery Center
Eastbrook Trailer Park
Evansville , Ind.

Warrick County
Bell Oaks Centre
8333 Bell Oaks Dr.
Newburgh , Ind.

In addition to the two Disaster Recovery Centers, a disaster assistance resource desk will be staffed at the Main Street Baptist Church at 623 East Main Street in Boonville, to serve northern Warrick County . Both DRCs and the resource desk will be open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

Programs available to eligible applicants may include:

Disaster Housing Assistance , administered by FEMA, for individuals and families who cannot live in their homes as a result of the disaster. The program provides funding for temporary accommodations or minimal home repairs to make a property safe, secure and habitable.

Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration for homeowners, renters and business owners for the repair, replacement or rebuilding of disaster-damaged property. Non-profit organizations such as charities, churches, private universities, etc., are also eligible.

Grants through the Individual and Family Grant program for those who have serious immediate needs resulting from the disaster that cannot be met by other sources.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top