Main Content

Deadline To Apply For Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
November 1, 2005
Release Number: 

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- For survivors of hurricanes Katrina and Rita from Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas, the deadline to apply for federal disaster assistance has been extended to January 11, 2006.

To apply for disaster assistance, survivors should call FEMA at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585. Lines are open 24 hours a day, seven days a week until further notice. They may also register online at

After the application deadline, FEMA?s toll-free phone line still will be available to assist those who have already registered. Applicants who have questions about the disaster assistance programs or questions about the status of their previously filed applications should continue to use FEMA?s toll-free number and press the number for the Help Line when prompted.

To date, over 2.5 million registrations have been filed for disaster assistance, and over $4.0 billion dollars have been approved for both disasters spanning the affected states.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top