Main Content

More Rita Evacuees Are Eligible For Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
October 1, 2005
Release Number: 

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- More Rita evacuees are now eligible for assistance. The Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that residents from six more parishes in Louisiana and 13 more counties in Texas are eligible for individual assistance from FEMA.

Homeowners, renters and business owners from Ascension, Sabine, St. Landry, St. Martin, Vernon and West Baton Rouge parishes can receive help to recover from the effects of Hurricane Rita, bringing the total eligible parishes to 18 . Louisiana parishes previously designated for individual assistance are: Acadia, Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron , Iberia , Jefferson Davis, Lafayette , Lafourche, St. Mary, Terrebonne, and Vermilion.

In Texas , 13 more counties have been approved for individual assistance: Angelina, Brazoria, Fort Bend , Harris, Montgomery , Nacogdoches , Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby , Trinity, and Walker , bringing the total to 22 . Previously, Chambers, Galveston , Hardin, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty , Newton , Orange and Tyler counties were designated.

All Rita evacuees who suffered damage are encouraged to register online at . Those without internet access can call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or ( TTY) 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing and speech impaired.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top